The Regrets of the Young

18 Apr

The author of this post surveyed 100 people aged 25-35 about what they regretted most in life.  He found the answers were pretty predictable.  The top 5:

  • “I wish I was doing something useful.”
  • “I wish I didn’t waste so much time earlier in life.”
  • “I wish I had travelled more.”
  • “I wish I was physically fit.”
  • “I wish I learned to live in the moment.”

It reminded me of this article detailing the top 5 regrets of the dying:

  • “I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.”
  • “I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.”
  • “I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.”
  • “I wish I’d stayed in touch with my friends.”
  • “I wish I’d let myself be happier.”

To me, it boils down to bits of advice that have been around for ever, and are indeed easy to spout, but hard to execute when the rubber really hits the road:

  • Follow your dreams.  Listen to your heart/soul = that’s the key to following your dreams.
  • Take risks.  In life and personally.
  • Have faith.  Know it’s not going to be easy and trust that you can’t connect the dots looking forward.

If you want a mantra, you can borrow mine: “Make life your adventure.”

Be alive.

Life should begin at the end of your comfort zone.

Live like you’re short on money but long on time (sounds oxymoronic but this is how you learn to live in the moment).

Leave a Reply

