The Ultimate RTW Inspiration

4 May

This documentary is simply beautiful.  It will make you laugh, it will make you cry, it will make you feel.  I ordered it online shortly after my nine-week 2007-2008 New Zealand/Australia trip.  Within weeks, I was schlepping across Europe.  It so accurately characterizes what is means to backpack around the world: the highs, the lows, and the elusive answer to the question I’ve been getting so often: “why?”.  I haven’t yet figured out exactly how I’m going to tell my dear Aunt Leslie, bestest cousin Kellie, and the rest of the family yet.  But I’m hoping maybe we can drink wine and watch this documentary?  It’s the closest thing I’ve got to an explanation.  Anyway, here’s the synopsis:

“On a trip around the world, every day feels like Saturday.  A MAP FOR SATURDAY reveals a world of long-term, solo travel through the stories of trekkers on four continents.  The documentary finds backpackers helping neglected Thai tsunami victims.  It explains why Nepal’s guesthouses are empty and Brazil’s stoplights are ignored.  But at its core, SATURDAY tracks the emotional arc of extreme long-term travelers; teenagers and senior citizens who wondered, “What would it be like to travel the world?”  Then did it.”

I just broke out the DVD and watched some of the extras.  I’m ready to leave tomorrow.  “A Map for Saturday” is powerful stuff.

Leave a Reply

