And the Universe Conspires

11 Jun

“Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen.”  -Ralph Waldo Emerson

I graduated from law school last June.  I took the bar exam last summer and since then have been clerking for a federal judge.  After my clerkship ends, in August, I was to go work for a big law firm, where I had worked the summer after my second year of law school.  Of course, then the Big Trip came along.

A few weeks ago, I called the firm to say, oh hey, I’m going to take a year-long solo backpacking trip around the world.  Any way you would welcome me back with open arms (and a fat paycheck) sixteen months from now or so?

Welp, they said yes.  Actually, their response kind of surprised me.  The hiring partners said “follow your bliss,” “this is the time to go on an amazing adventure,” and “taking a year does not hurt you professionally and will likely make you a more interesting person.”

I was terrified to ask.  I doubted myself.  But I’m so glad I made the decision to go on the Big Trip, and I’m so glad I did ask.  Somehow I broke free from the merciless grasp of the world’s greatest lie.

At a certain point in our lives, we lose control of what’s happening to us, and our lives become controlled by fate. That’s the world’s greatest lie.  –The Alchemist

Leave a Reply

