K-k-k-k-k-k-Kathmandu

21 Jun

I think I’m goin’ to Kathmandu
I think it’s really where I’m goin’ to
Hey, if I ever get out of here
That what I’m gonna do

K-k-k-k-k-k-Kathmandu
I think it’s really where I’m goin’ to
Hey, if I ever get out of here
I’m goin’ to Kathmandu

-Bob Seger, “Kathmandu”

So the big news is that I depart Washington, DC on September 4.  Flying through London Heathrow to Doha, Qatar, where I’m spending the night.  And then on to Kathmandu, arriving on September 6.

Where I’ll be staying for five months.  Volunteering my legal skills at an NGO fighting child trafficking.

Wait, what?  Luce, I thought we were going galavanting around the world.  Laying on white sand beaches, drinking pina coladas for pennies.  Half Moon Parties.  Windsurfing.  Skydiving.  Laughing and drinking and shagging and laughing.

Yeah, so did I.  Then I read a few books and decided it would be cool to add a volunteer stint to my trip.  Then I realized that a lot of “voluntourism” is a glorified charade: paying money to pretend to volunteer.  Then I set out to find a real volunteer gig.  Then I found this one.  Then they wanted me for five months.  And turns out it’s in Nepal, one of the world’s most impoverished countries, and which the New York Times just called “On The Brink of Collapse.”

Electricity is spotty.  The city is clouded in pollution.  A civil war just ended not too long ago.  Democracy is looking shaky.

And I’m going.  For five months.

String up your prayer flags, folks!

But seriously, I think this will be a fantastic opportunity to get to know the ins and outs of a complex social issue in a developing country.  It seems to be meaningful work that will, perhaps, forever change the way I view the world and the people in it.

One Response to “K-k-k-k-k-k-Kathmandu”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Battle for the Vote « Lucie on the Lam - August 16, 2012

    […]  Co-worker Bert comes up with a good idea: I e-mail the lady I’ll be living with in Nepal (while I’m working for the NGO) to ask what her address is.  She writes back: Addresses aren’t really a thing here.  Our […]

Leave a Reply

