I Don’t Have to Go to Work… for a Year!

22 Aug

Friday was my last day of work.  Which means I won’t be going to work again for a year.  Or more (I’m just joking, Dad! My butt will be at work no later than September 1, 2013).

My boss gave me a much-appreciated and much-needed owl pendant to keep me safe, lucky, and wise on my journey.  She clearly thinks I’m dropped-on-the-head-as-a-baby crazy, though.  “Why do you need to go to Kathmandu to find yourself?”, she asks.  “I don’t need to go to Kathmandu to find myself.  I can find myself in a hammock in a villa in the south of France.”

My lucky owl pendant. I love it! Keep me safe, owl!

There was then some doubt expressed about how I could possibly survive said trip, given my penchant for “taking chances,” “making assumptions,” and “trusting people.”  “What makes you think you can do this, Lucie?”  [Subtext: Have you circumnavigated the globe before… in a canoe?  Did you grow up in a missionary family living in a bat dung hut?  Do you speak sixteen and a half languages?]

Uhhhh, I said:

I’m counting on first timer’s luck.  After all, amateurs built the ark; professionals built the Titanic.

Reactions were muted.  I guess that didn’t instill a bastion of confidence.

4 Responses to “I Don’t Have to Go to Work… for a Year!”

  1. Anonymous August 22, 2012 at 2:02 am #

    Good luck Lucie – enjoy 🙂

  2. Jim and Ardis August 23, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    We have loads of confidence in you!

    • Lucie August 24, 2012 at 7:09 am #

      Awwww! Yay 🙂

  3. Michael August 24, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    you shoulda gone to see the costumed ghostbuster fans to inspire you.

Leave a Reply

