Life’s a Trek

8 Oct

Timmy and I went trekking for three days in the Annapurna region of Nepal.  I loved it.  It stirred something deep inside of me, and I couldn’t help but think of my good friend’s dad Steve, who is headed off on the Appalachian Trail by himself for a few months.

The more I walked, the more it struck me: trekking is a great metaphor for life.

You get to the top of one hill… and realize there’s just another hill on top of that one to climb.

You step on a rock with invisible moss and fall on your butt… and then you get up and step on a thousand more rocks, any one of which could be covered with invisible moss.

The emotional vulnerability that you feel in life — the fear of rejection, the haunt of loneliness, the ethereal sense of isolation — becomes tangible, as if it may as well be strapped on your back.  For you have a very real appreciation for the fact that you are hours upon hours, by foot, from a doctor or any other modern convenience.

I figure that most of life, like most of trekking, is just plain hard.  You’ve gotta find your rhythm in the march and live for the small moments of joy in life — when the mountain silhouettes peak through through the clouds and expose their splendor.  Or when a little Nepalese kid pokes your chub and calls you fat in Nepali (I think that’s a compliment ’cause it means you’ve got food to eat?!).

Okay, I’ll shut my trap now and let the photos speak for themselves:

A candid shot of Timmy and I getting ready for the start of our trek.

Lots of little bridges.

Hmmm, it’s a marijuana plant.

Annapurna South (7,219 meters).

Amidst the world’s highest mountains: the Himalayas.

Rice paddies are a photographer’s dream.

6 Responses to “Life’s a Trek”

  1. Karen October 8, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    Wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. Van Pelt, Carl October 8, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    On blkbry, haven’t seen photos but your prose is powerful. Succinctly so. Well done. Proud of you. Love Dad
    Sent via Blackberry

  3. Aunt Les October 8, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Wow Lib!! That looks amazing….. sounds like you are doing alot of deep thinking… loveit!!!

  4. Anonymous October 9, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Wow – what an experience. your will remember this amazing trip for the rest of your life. Great picture. your Dad is proud of you!!! Kief (had lunch with you and your dad – we work together),

    • Lucie October 9, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      Thanks so much, Kief! I look forward to another lunch (of chili dogs, I think we had?) when I get back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Engaged! « Lucie on the Lam - November 29, 2012

    […] you may recall, Som guided my friend Timmy and I on a trek in the Annapurna region of Nepal two months […]

Leave a Reply

